George N. Thompson Award for Distinguished Service

Deadline to Submit: Closed
The Society of Biological Psychiatry established the George N. Thompson Award for Distinguished Service in 1982. The award recognized Dr. George N. Thompson’s role as one of the founders of the Society in 1944 and his contributions over the years to the growth of the Society.
  1. The award is intended to honor members of the Society who have given outstanding service to promote the welfare of the organization.
  2. The recipient may be honored for work in the areas of leadership, governance, development of publications, special projects, financial contributions, or other service recognized as distinguished by the Council.
  3. The award will be advertised yearly, but Council reserves the right to make no award in any year.


  1. Members of the Society should submit a letter describing the distinguished work of the member being nominated. 
  2. The Honorific Award Committee will review all nominations and recommend a recipient to Council for approval.
  3. The award will be presented by the President of the Society at the Society’s Annual Meeting.
  4. All applications must be submitted on-line.

Previous Recipients (partial listing)

2005 – Trey Sunderland, MD – National Institute of Mental Health
2006 – Dennis S. Charney, MD – Mount Sinai School of Medicine
2007 – Margaret Peterson, MBA – Society of Biological Psychiatry
2008 – Joel E. Kleinman, MD, PhD – National Institute of Mental Health
2009 – Peter Roy-Byrne, MD – University of Washington School of Medicine, Seattle
2010 – Elliott Richelson, MD – Mayo Clinic
2011 –  John Krystal, MD – Yale University
2012 – J. John Mann, MD – Columbia University
2013 – Daniel S. Pine, MD – National Institute of Mental Health
2014 – Linda Carpenter, MD – Butler Hospital/Brown University
2015 – Scott L. Rauch, MD – McLean Hospital
2016 – Paul E. Holtzheimer, III, MD – Dartmouth and Kristina M. Deligiannidis, MD – University of Massachusetts
2017 – Stephen Strakowski, MD – Dell Medical School, University of Texas Austin
2018 – Ned Kalin, MD –University of Wisconsin
2019 – Cam Carter, MD – University of California, Davis
2020 – Mary Phillips, MD – University of Pittsburgh
2021 – Karen Berman, MD – National Institute of Health, National Institute of Mental Health
2022 – SOBP Women’s Leadership Group
2023- Noah S. Philip, MD– VA Providence & Brown University                                                     2024- Sarah Short, PhD –University of Wisconsin

Society of Biological Psychiatry