Please celebrate the lives and accomplishments of our distinguished members.


Iver Small, MD, Dr. Small, MD, passed away March 21, 2020. Dr. Small was a distinguished member of the society since 1998 and a Past President of SOBP.

Glenda MacQueen, FRCPC, Dr. MacQueen, FRCPC, passed away March 27, 2020. Dr. MacQueen was a distinguished member of the society since 1998.

Bruce McEwen, PhD, Dr. Duman, Ph.D., passed away January 2, 2020. Bruce S. McEwen, Ph.D. was the Alfred E. Mirsky Professor and Head of the Harold and Margaret Milliken Hatch Laboratory of Neuroendocrinology. He was elected to the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP) in 1998 and became the inaugural winner of the Neuropsychopharmacology Editors’ Award for a Review (NEAR) in 2017. Dr. McEwen was internationally renowned for his extraordinary research documenting the profound role of stress and stress hormones, specifically the cortisol-like corticosterone steroid in rodents, on both brain structure and function. For over five decades, Dr. McEwen continued to conduct outstanding laboratory-based research, primarily in rodent models, to increasingly elucidate the details of how stress, stress hormones, and sex hormones impact specific aspects of brain function, with focus on the hippocampus. Dr. McEwen was a distinguished member of the society since 1994.

Ronald Duman, PhD, Dr. Duman, Ph.D., passed away February 1, 2020. Ronald S. Duman, Ph.D. was the Elizabeth Mears and House Jameson Professor of Psychiatry and Professor of Neuroscience at the Yale University School of Medicine and Director of the Abraham Ribicoff Research Facilities of the Connecticut Mental Health Center. He also played a central role in the National PTSD Brain Bank and the National Center for Posttraumatic Stress Disorder of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. He was a member of the U.S. National Academy of Medicine and recipient of two of the most prestigious prizes for mood disorders research, the Colvin Prize of the Brain and Behavior Research Foundation and the Anna-Monika Foundation Prize. The Duman laboratory focused on identifying fundamental neurobiological mechanisms underlying the effects of stress on the brain. He was a pioneer in identifying how antidepressant treatments reverse structural changes produced by stress in both animal models and studies of human post-mortem brain tissue. Dr. Duman was a distinguished member of the society since 1982.


Ekkehard Othmer, MD, PhD, Dr. Ekkehard Othmer, M.D., Ph.D.,  passed away May 12, 2019. Dr. Othmer was a distinguished member of the society since 1982.


Larry Seidman, PhD, Larry was born and raised in New York City. He completed his undergraduate studies in psychology at City College of New York (CCNY) in 1971, an institution in which he had great pride. He received his doctorate at Boston University in 1980. He met Ilene Seidman, his wife of 46 years, when they were freshman at CCNY. They raised two children, Sarah, an historian and museum curator, and Josh, a lawyer. Before his death, Larry was blessed to meet his first grandson and first granddaughter.


Claude de Montigny, MD, PhD, passed away October 19, 2012.  Dr. de Montigny was a distinguished member of the Society since 1990.


Jose M. Delgado, MD, passed away September 5, 2011.  Dr. Delgado was an honorary member of the Society since 1976.

John A. Harvey, PhD, died June 25, 2011.  Dr. Harvey was a distinguished member of the Society since 1982.

Melvin Sabshin, MD, died June 4, 2011.  Dr. Sabshin was a distinguished member of the Society since 1960.

Alfred M. Freedman, MD (PDF)
On April 17, 2011 Alfred M. Freedman MD died in New York at the age of 94. He left behind a wife, two children, two grandchildren, innumerable colleagues whose careers were greatly influenced by him as well as a mental health community with untold numbers of patients most of whom will never know how his career has led to improvements in  their care.

Tana Grady-Weliky, MD
On January 18, 2011, Tana Grady-Weilky, MD died after a brief illness.


James Timothy Winslow, PhD
Dr. James Timothy Winslow died November 17, 2010.


Elizabeth Weller, MD
Dr. Elizabeth Weller died November 29, 2009.

Elizabeth Young, MD (PDF)
Dr. Elizabeth Young, died September 1, 2009.

Victor Milstein, PhD (PDF)
Professor Emeritus of Psychology in Psychiatry, Indiana University and Larue Carter Hospital.

Wagner H. Bridger, MD (PDF)
A research pioneer in the fields of biological psychiatry, psychopharmacology and neonatology, past president of the Society of Biological Psychiatry, and Editor Emeriti of its journal, Biological Psychiatry.

Elizabeth Dorus, PhD

A distinguished scientist in genetics and biological psychiatry, died in February 2009 following a long, courageous battle with multiple sclerosis.