A.E. Bennett Basic Research Award

Deadline to Submit: Closed

The Society of Biological Psychiatry offers an annual award of $5,000 each in basic science and in clinical/translational science for the purpose of stimulating research in biological psychiatry by young investigators.


  1. Candidates shall either (a) have not passed their 45th birthday by January 1 for the year of the award, or (b) have not been engaged in research for greater than 10 years following award of their terminal degree or the end of formal clinical/fellowship training, whichever is later.
  2. The Department Chair may submit the name or names of their best young faculty members as candidates for the basic science or clinical/translational research awards.
  3. Candidates need not be current members of the Society of Biological Psychiatry.
  4. The prize will be awarded based on a body of work rather than a single paper.
  5. The candidate shall submit their three (3) most significant papers. The candidate can select which of his/her papers to include but the committee will judge the significance of the candidate’s independent contribution. As such, it is highly recommended that the candidate be either the first or senior (corresponding) author on the papers submitted.
  6. Although the research is not to be judged in comparison with the work of the more senior investigators, special consideration will be given to the originality of the approach and independence of thought evident in the submission.
  7. The Society reserves the right to not provide these awards in either category (basic or clinical/translational research) each year.


  1. The application package must include the following:
    • Letter of nomination from the Department Chair
    • Two (2) additional letters of support (one must be from a member of the Society)
    • One (1) page description of candidate’s research
    • Five (5) page NIH bio sketch of candidate
    • Three (3) published or submitted papers
  2. Recipients will be limited to one award during their training.
  3. All applications must be submitted on-line.
  4. The award will be presented by the President of the Society during the Society’s Annual Meeting.

Previous Recipients

2005 – Stephan Heckers, MD – McLean Hospital
2006 – Shitij Kapur, MD, PhD – Centre for Addiction and Mental Health
2007 – Andreas Meyer-Lindenberg, MD, PhD – National Institute of Mental Health
2008 – Alexander Neumeister, MD – Yale University and Ramin V. Parsey, MD, PhD – Columbia
2009 – Serena Dudek, PhD – National Institutes of Health/NIEHS and Gina Kuperberg, MD, PhD
Turfs University
2010 – Francis Lee, MD, PhD – Weill Cornell University and David Glahn, PhD – Yale University
2011 – Jeffrey H. Meyer, MD, PhD – University of Toronto
2012 – Joshua A. Gordon, MD, PhD – Columbia University
2013 – Catherine J. Harmer, DPhil – University of Oxford and Timothy Bredy, PhD – The University
of Queensland
2014 – Eric Morrow, MD, PhD – Brown University and Andrew Holmes, PhD – NIH/NIAAA
2015 – Guo-li Ming, MD, PhD – Johns Hopkins
2016 – Susanne E. Ahmari, MD PhD (basic) – University of Pittsburgh and Alan Anticevic, PhD
           (clinical/translational) – Yale University
2017 – Carolyn Rodrigues, MD, PhD (clinical) – Stanford University and Todd D. Gould, MD (basic)
– University of Maryland School of Medicine
2018 – Sergiu Pasca, MD – Stanford University and Jonathan Sebat, PhD – University of California
San Diego, San Diego
2019 – Zachary Freyberg, MD (basic) – University of Pittsburgh and Avram Holmes, PhD
          (clinical/translational) – Yale University
2020 – Shelly Flagel, PhD (Basic) – Michigan Neuroscience Institute, University of Michigan
2021 – Vikaas Sohal, MD, PhD – University of California – San Francisco
2022 – Jared Young, PhD – University of California San Diego
2023- Lucina Q. Uddin, PhD– University of California Los Angles                                                2024- Sandra Sanchez-Roige, PhD – University of California San Diego


Society of Biological Psychiatry